CBPS Linkages

Notice Board


Award Winners

Prof. Wandiga Awarded UNESCO Medal Award 2015

The Kenya National Commission for UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization awarded Prof. Shem O. Wandiga, Acting Director ofInstitute for Climate Change and Adaptation with a medal for his contribution to the development of nanosciences and nanotechnologies. 

The award ceremony took place on April 10,2015, at UNESCO Headquarters in Paris, France on April 10, 2015 . The ceremony was led by UNESCO's Director General Mrs. Irina Bokova.

Prof. Wandiga has distinctively represented Kenya at UNESCO's Executive Board (1995-1999) as well as in other additional UNESCO committees, projects and research work. 

Prof. Wandiga was among eight laureates who recieved the award in Paris. He is also a founder member and chair of the Kenya National Academy of Sciences. He has contributed immensely in sciences and development in various sectors. 

Other Laureates are:

  1. Mr. Valentin Bukhtoyarov (Russian Federation) : Academician of the Russian Academy of Mining Science
  2. Ms. Constance Chang-Hasnain (United States) : John R. Whinnery Chair Professor at the University of California, Berkeley
  3. Ms. Soodabeh Davaran (Iran) : Professor of Medicinal Chemistry at Tabriz University
  4. Mr. Vladimir Fortov (Russian Federation) : President of the Russian Academy of Sciences
  5. Mr. Mikhail Kovalchuk (Russian Federation) : Founder of the Kurchatov Nano-Bio –Info-Kogno Centre and Head of the Editorial Board of the journal Russian Nanotechnologies
  6. Ms. Tebello Nyokong (South Africa) : Professor of Medicinal Chemistry and Nanotechnology and Distinguished Professor of Chemistry at Rhodes University
  7. Mr. Mikhail Selyanin (Russian Federation) : President of the International Research and Development Centre for Innovation Technologies


Prof. Wandiga is also the Chancellor for Egerton University


Follow us on Facebook


Community Outreach

Contact Us

Postal Address: P.O. Box 30197, NAIROBI,Kenya.

Telephone: 4442016-4/4449004.

Corruption Prevention Telephone Hotline: 0202667119

CBPS Customer Feeback Email Address:




Locate Us

UoN Website | UoN Repository | ICTC Website

Copyright © University of Nairobi 2019. All Rights Reserved.